Snap Infraction - The Official Forum

The Official Forum
Go Back The Official Forum > Football
Snap Infraction Snap Infraction
User Name Remember Me?
Password
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Community Links
Social Groups
Pictures & Albums
Members List
Search Forums
Show Threads Show Posts
Tag Search
Advanced Search
Go to Page...
Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
#1 (permalink) Old Sun Oct 19, 2008, 09:23pm
TViglione TViglione is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Oct 2008 Posts: 1
Snap Infraction During a High School Football game the opposing teams center snapped the ball earlier than anticipated by his teammates because he was the only player to move on the snap. The ball touched the QB's hands and then fell to the ground. The ball was recovered by a defensive lineman. In my book, that is considered a fumble and the ball should have gone to the defense, however, the ref called a five yard penalty due to a "snap infraction" and the offense maintained the ball. Which is the correct call? Reply With Quote
#2 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 04:44am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline Fav theme: Roundball Rock Join Date: Nov 2000 Location: Near Dog River (sorta) Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling Quote:
Originally Posted by TViglione View Post During a High School Football game the opposing teams center snapped the ball earlier than anticipated by his teammates because he was the only player to move on the snap. The ball touched the QB's hands and then fell to the ground. The ball was recovered by a defensive lineman. In my book, that is considered a fumble and the ball should have gone to the defense, however, the ref called a five yard penalty due to a "snap infraction" and the offense maintained the ball. Which is the correct call?
CANADIAN RULING: Assuming that the Ready For Play whistle had in fact been blown in, it is a fumble and first down for the team currently on defense - team B. __________________ Pope Francis Reply With Quote
#3 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 07:01am
waltjp waltjp is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Aug 2004 Location: Randolph, NJ Posts: 1,936 Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by TViglione View Post During a High School Football game the opposing teams center snapped the ball earlier than anticipated by his teammates because he was the only player to move on the snap. The ball touched the QB's hands and then fell to the ground. The ball was recovered by a defensive lineman. In my book, that is considered a fumble and the ball should have gone to the defense, however, the ref called a five yard penalty due to a "snap infraction" and the offense maintained the ball. Which is the correct call?
Nothing you have said would lead me to believe this was an illegal snap. __________________ I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! Reply With Quote
#4 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 07:32am
Forksref Forksref is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: N.D. Posts: 1,829
The only infraction was that B got the short end of the stick. No foul here. Just a snapper who didn't know the count and B suffers. Reply With Quote
#5 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 08:19am
FTVMartin FTVMartin is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Apr 2007 Location: MI Posts: 175
There was nothing illegal about the snap. It was just early. That's a fumble. Reply With Quote
#6 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 08:37am
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Aug 1999 Posts: 1,130
NFHS 2-39 SNAP Art. 1...A snap is the legal act of passing or handing the ball backwards from its position on the ground. Art. 2...The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman. Art. 3...The snap ends when the ball touches the ground or any player. Where was this not a snap? It is possible it was ruled a snap infraction if the snapper did not make a continuous movement. You had to be there! __________________ Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP [email protected] Reply With Quote
#7 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 09:08am
wwcfoa43 wwcfoa43 is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Nov 2003 Posts: 183
Perhaps the official was thinking NFL rules. Prior to the 2008 season in the NFL, a snap that hit the ground prior to touching the QB was a 5 yard illegal procedure penalty. Of course, even this does not match the OP because the poster said the QB touched it which would have been a fumble even in the NFL pre-2008. Reply With Quote
#8 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 11:51am
mikesears mikesears is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Jun 2000 Location: Bloomington, IL Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by TViglione View Post During a High School Football game the opposing teams center snapped the ball earlier than anticipated by his teammates because he was the only player to move on the snap. The ball touched the QB's hands and then fell to the ground. The ball was recovered by a defensive lineman. In my book, that is considered a fumble and the ball should have gone to the defense, however, the ref called a five yard penalty due to a "snap infraction" and the offense maintained the ball. Which is the correct call?
Not having the benefit of seeing the play, I have a couple of questions. Did the snapper double pump? Did the snapper let go of the ball immediately? Was there something else that could have caused the ball to remain dead? A snap must meet several requirements to be legal and if it doesn't, the ball remains dead. __________________ Mike Sears Reply With Quote
#9 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 12:53pm
LeRoy LeRoy is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: North Posts: 69
Fumble --- B's Ball Reply With Quote
#10 (permalink) Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 04:37pm
LDUB LDUB is offline Official Forum Member Join Date: Jul 2003 Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by TViglione View Post The ball touched the QB's hands and then fell to the ground. The ball was recovered by a defensive lineman. In my book, that is considered a fumble
In the rule book, that is considered a muff Reply With Quote
Reply
Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
  • Submit Thread to del.icio.us del.icio.us
  • Submit Thread to StumbleUpon StumbleUpon
  • Submit Thread to Google Google
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Hybrid Mode Switch to Hybrid Mode
Threaded Mode Switch to Threaded Mode
Rate This Thread
ExcellentExcellent GoodGood AverageAverage BadBad TerribleTerrible
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts BB code is On Smilies are On [IMG] code is On HTML code is OnTrackbacks are On Pingbacks are On Refbacks are On Forum Rules
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snap infraction question bcl1127 Football 8 Wed Oct 08, 2008 09:30pm
legal or snap infraction?? MJT Football 5 Tue Oct 23, 2007 09:03am
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Snap Infraction or not? ljudge Football 2 Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:35am
snap infraction DanSummers Football 6 Mon Nov 11, 2002 08:03pm
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40am.
The Official Forum - Archive - Top
LinkBack
LinkBack URL LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks About LinkBacks
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1

Tag » What Is A Snap Infraction